[wpv-post-link id="$artist"]

SOURCE ⧺ WE MOVE finds Garcia reinventing her Mercury Prize-nominated album, SOURCE, through new collaborations with several artists and producers, including: Dengue Dengue Dengue, Georgia Anne Muldrow, DJ Harrison and Moses Boyd. The reworked tracks retain the inspiring musicianship and blend of jazz and other influences found on the original, whilst also moving in a more beat-driven, electronic direction. The full track list is included below, the album is available to pre-save here, with exclusive merchandise here.

Garcia’s critically acclaimed debut album, SOURCE, released in August 2020, is included in this year’s Mercury Music Prize shortlist. Garcia will perform at the awards ceremony, broadcast live on the BBC on 9th September.

In other news, Garcia and her band – which features Joe Armon-Jones on keys, Daniel Casimir on double bass, and Sam Jones on drums – made their debut performance at the BBC Proms at London’s Royal Albert Hall last night. They were joined by special guest Sheila Maurice Grey on trumpet

After a lengthy enforced hiatus, Garcia recently resumed playing live and has dates throughout the summer, followed by her own headline UK tour from 31st October to 8th November – more Europe and UK live dates are due to be added over the coming weeks. In addition, Garcia continues her long-running monthly DJ residency on NTS Radio.


SOURCE ⧺ WE MOVE tracklist:

01. La Cumbia Me Está Llamando feat. La Perla (Kaidi Tatham remix)

02. Together Is A Beautiful Place To Be (Nala Sinephro remix)

03. The Message Continues (DJ Harrison remix)

04. Inner Game (Blvck Spvde remix)

05. Boundless Beings (Georgia Anne Muldrow remix)

06. Stand With Each Other (KeiyaA remix)

07. La Cumbia Me Está Llamando feat. La Perla (Suricata remix)

08. Source (Dengue Dengue Dengue remix)

09. Pace (Moses Boyd remix)


Praise for Nubya Garcia & SOURCE:

“a sweeping set of jazz with Afro-Caribbean influences that funnels a life’s worth of experiences into an hour-long listen” New York Times


“It’s Garcia’s riveting, beacon-like lines that keep the eclectic and roomy album feeling lively and focused” Rolling Stone


“Nubya Garcia has the kind of convincing panache listeners would just follow anywhere” NPR


“a stunning introduction” 8.3, Best New Music Pitchfork

Other Releases by Nubya Garcia